December 10, 2023


Enhance your play

University of Minnesota Athletics

MHL 2023 Hobey Baker Top 10

ST. PAUL – Logan Cooley and Matthew Knies of the top rated-ranked Golden Gophers men’s hockey crew were equally named a 2023 Hobey Baker Memorial Award Top 10 Finalist the committee declared Wednesday. The 10 finalists were picked by voting from all 61 NCAA Division I college hockey head coaches plus on the internet lover balloting.
From working day a person with Minnesota, Cooley has showcased his offensive techniques and is the primary scorer for the Maroon and Gold as his 50 details rank fourth nationally and are eighth in single-period method heritage for a freshman. The All-Major Ten First Workforce and All-Large Ten Freshman Team selection has recorded at the very least 1 issue in 28 of 34 online games performed, with multi-stage efforts in 15 contests, and only once has he performed again-to-back video games with no scoring a place. Cooley has registered five match-winning ambitions, ranking third in the country, and all 5 have appear in his final 20 game titles played.
A product of Pittsburgh, Pa., he is at the moment using a season-prolonged, 12-match level streak, the longest energetic streak in the region, totaling 23 details in that stretch. Cooley turned the only B1G participant this year with a 5-place general performance when he experienced a aim and 4 assists in the 2nd period at Penn Point out Feb. 17. He prospects all NCAA players with a +34 rating and posted a beneficial additionally-minus in 22 outings, though his 32 assists rank fifth in the country.
Knies, the 2022-23 Major 10 Conference Participant of the Year and All-Huge 10 First Crew honoree, employs his dimensions, power, and pace to take in excess of video games, especially with the remaining result in flux. He sits sixth nationally totaling 21 aims, scoring in 19 of 35 game titles played, and recorded a pair of multi-intention outings this yr. The Phoenix, Ariz., indigenous continues to direct the NCAA with seven match-successful ambitions, whilst 3 of people have come in time beyond regulation. Knies is a single of only 5 players in Gophers’ heritage with three overtime objectives and the only participant to at any time do it in 1 time.
The sophomore thrives on the two sides of distinctive teams, tallying six electric power-perform goals and Minnesota’s only two shorthanded plans this 12 months. He has objectives in back-to-back again video games 7 periods this period, including a pair of 3-match goal scoring streaks. Knies’ consistency has been a important factor in his accomplishment all through the marketing campaign, specially down the extend, in which he has not long gone consecutive contests with out a stage given that the center of November.
Minnesota is one particular of just a few NCAA groups to have at minimum four Hobey Baker Memorial Award winners in software heritage as Jordan Leopold (2002), Brian Bonin (1996), Robb Stauber (1988) and Neal Broten (1981) all earned the prestigious honor as a Gopher. Ben Meyers was a finalist for the award a time ago, although Steve Ulseth (1981) and Robb Stauber (1989) also were being named finalists with the Maroon and Gold.
A 30-member collection committee manufactured up of coaches, supervisors of officials, media, and NHL scouts, alongside with a different spherical of fan balloting by means of the Hobey site ( from March 17-26, will establish this year’s Hobey Baker winner. The Hobey Hat Trick (a few finalists) will be announced March 30 and the Hobey Baker Award winner will be declared April 7 live on the NHL Community and streamed on the Hobey Baker site at 5:00 p.m. The Hobey Baker Top 10 video clip is out there in a Substantial Definition structure at
Conditions for the award are exhibiting outstanding competencies in all phases of the sport, strength of character on and off the ice, sportsmanship and scholastic achievements.
2023 Hobey Baker Memorial Award Leading 10 Finalists:
Logan Cooley, Fr., F, Minnesota
Adam Fantilli, Fr., F, Michigan
Sean Farrell, Jr., F, Harvard
Collin Graf, So., F, Quinnipiac
Lane Hutson, Fr., D, Boston U.
Matthew Knies, So., F, Minnesota
Devon Levi, Jr., G, Northeastern
Yaniv Perets, So., G, Quinnipiac
Blake Pietila, Sr., G, Michigan Tech
Jason Polin, Sr., F, Western Michigan